Midwest Transplant Awards Excellence in Donation Award to Western Plains

August 31, 2017

Midwest Transplant Network recognizes our partnership in saving lives through organ and tissue donation by presenting the Excellence in Donation Awards to hospitals and individuals in our service area.

Based on 2016 donation outcomes, hospitals receiving the Organ Conversion Excellence Award had at least four eligible organ donors with a conversion rate of >80 percent. Hospitals receiving the Tissue Conversion Excellence Award had at least 15 eligible tissue donors with a conversion rate >40 percent.

In addition to the hospital awards, individuals were also nominated and selected to receive an award for their contributions to donation and transplantation. All award winners are listed below.

Organ and Tissue Conversion Award: Centerpoint Medical Center, Children’s Mercy Hospital, Freeman Health System, Lake Regional Health System, Liberty Hospital, Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Salina Regional Health Center, Stormont-Vail HealthCare, University of Kansas Hospital, Wesley Medical Center

Organ Conversion Award: Research Medical Center, Truman Medical Center, University Hospital

Tissue Conversion Award: Hutchinson Regional Medical Center, Lawrence Memorial Hospital, Lee’s Summit Medical Center, Mercy Hospital Joplin, Mosaic Life Care, North Kansas City Hospital, Providence Medical Center, Saint Luke’s East Hospital, Saint Luke’s North Hospital,  Shawnee Mission Medical Center, St. Joseph Medical Center, St. Mary’s Medical Center, Via Christi – St. Francis, Western Plains Medical Complex

Individual Honors: Nicole Barnett, Centerpoint Medical Center; Georgianne Bear, Jackson County Medical Examiner’s Office; Jane Braklow, Olathe Medical Center; Dr. Carole Freiberger, Saint Luke’s Hospital; Dr. Steven Glorsky, University of Kansas Hospital; Alana Goeringer, Saint Luke’s Hospital; Haley Pryor, Joplin License Office; Don Spino, Midwest Carriers; Laurence Tucker, Armstrong Teasdale.